Secondary Concentration Area

Successful completion of a degree for all majors except Music & Technology requires a secondary concentration area. This entails taking a set of five (5) courses in one or more disciplines outside of the major program of study, including (but not limited to) engineering, management, physics, chemistry, computer science, or another discipline in HASS. This additional breadth of experience provides students with an opportunity to achieve significant competence in a scientific, technological, or professional field and prepares them for a variety of careers. Secondary concentration areas may draw from any disciplinary area offered across Stevens. Students may use the secondary concentration area to complete requirements towards a minor in a second field. Although a limited number of courses are needed to complete the secondary concentration requirement, open electives in the student’s study plan may be used to gain greater expertise and depth in the chosen area.